Saturday, March 28, 2020

Olives Grocery & Feeds - New Hill

Olives Grocery and Feeds once sat along Old US 1 in New Hill.   The store sat at the crossroads of US 1 and New Hill-Olive Chapel Road in Southern Wake County.

The former corner store was pretty much run down when I came across it in September 2008.  It was torn down not long after.  If you have any information on the history of the old store, please feel free to leave a comment or email the author!

New Hill

NEW HILL - A post office was established here in 1832. The community was incorporated in 1907, but its charter was repealed a decade later in 1917.

New Hill is located in Southern Wake County along Old US 1.  In years now long past, New Hill was a very busy crossroads along US 1. Two service stations, a motor lodge, an ice cream stand, and a general store were once located at US 1 and New Hill/Olive Chapel Roads.

How To Get There:

Camelback Truss Bridge over the Deep River

Camelback Truss Bridge over the Deep River near Cumnock.  The bridge was built in 1908 by the Cambria Works Company in Johnstown, Pennsylvania and first crossed the Cape Fear River near Lillington. 
In 1930, a span of the Cape Fear bridge collapsed causing the bridge to be disassembled.  Two years later, the bridge was moved to its current location to replace a covered bridge that burned down in 1929. 
The bridge is known as Truss Bridge #155 and carried local traffic until 1992.  It has since been added to the National Register of Historic Places. Today, the bridge is the centerpiece of a local park that is popular for picnicking and fishing.
All photos taken September 27, 2008. How To Get There:

Friday, March 20, 2020

Tabor City

Tabor City, the Yam Capital of the World, sits along the North Carolina South Carolina border in Columbus County.  First settled in 1886, the Tabor City community is home to one of the state's turning points for civil rights.

Tabor City was named after the nearby Mount Tabor Presbyterian Church and was originally known as Mount Tabor or Tabor when it was incorporated in 1905.  Confusion with the Northeastern North Carolina town of Tarboro led the town's name to change to Tabor City in 1935.

Every fall, Tabor City hosts the North Carolina Yam Festival.  This October event has been held annually since 1985.

Tabor City has had a long history in farming, tobacco, and lumber.  It is also home to the Tabor-Loris Tribune, a weekly community newspaper that was historically important during the struggle for civil rights.

In the early 1950s, Tabor City and its weekly newspaper the Tabor City Tribune was a flashpoint in the country's civil rights struggle and the fight against the Ku Klux Klan.  Starting in the summer of 1950, the Klan began a recruitment and intimidation campaign along the border counties of the two states.  The owner and editor of the Tribune, W. Horace Carter, began a series of editorials reporting and condemning the actions of the Klan.  His writings began after a motorcade of 30 vehicles carrying Klansmen rode through downtown Tabor City one July 1950 evening.  His July 26, 1950 column "An Editorial: No Excuse for KKK" was the first over 100 articles and editorials that would document and condemn the Klan's activities.

Throughout 1950 and 1951, the Klan harassed, intimidated, kidnapped, flogged numerous men and women of both black and white races.  The Klan also attempted to harass and intimidate Carter.  Threatening phone calls, notes and letters were sent.  Boycotting of advertisers were attempted.  His beloved bird dog, Bess, disappeared - only to return four months later.  In spite of all this, Carter's reporting, editorials, and responses to letters written to the newspaper by Grand Dragons continued to cast a bright light on the intimidation campaigns.

The Tribune's work along with that of the Whiteville News Reporter (another weekly newspaper) would lead to the arrest of numerous Klansmen - including Grand Dragon Thomas Hamilton - in the Spring of 1952.

Their work also led to both weekly's being awarded the 1953 Pulitzer Prize for Meritorious Public Service.  In 2013, a one hour PBS documentary "The Editor and the Dragon" told the story of Carter's efforts.

Today, within the offices of the Tabor-Loris Tribune, a museum that celebrates Carter's life and showcases his work is open to the general public.  Carter passed away in 2009 at the age of 88.

All photos taken by post author - September 2008

Saturday, February 29, 2020

North Carolina Aviation Museum and Hall of Fame

Since the Wright Brothers, modern North Carolina has been shaped by aviation.  From the historic Piedmont Airlines, to Seymour Johnson Air Force Base or the growth at Charlotte-Douglas and Raleigh-Durham International Airports, air travel has played an important part in our state's modern history.

The North Carolina Aviation Museum and Hall of Fame is a non-profit volunteer run museum in Asheboro.  Located among the hangers at Asheboro Regional Airport, the museum focuses on both civilian and military aircraft from private collections and historically accurate models.

Piedmont Airlines Display at the North Carolina Aviation Museum and Hall of Fame
The museum is open Thursday through Sunday's from 11 am to 5 pm.  Admission is extremely reasonable: $10 for adults, $8 for seniors and military, $5 for kids over seven. Children under 7 are free.

The museum got it start from Jim Peddycord's donation of his personal collection in the mid-1990s. His efforts along with those of Craig Branson led to the creation of the museum and the official designation as the State Aviation Hall of Fame and North Carolina Aviation Museum by the General Assembly in 2003.
The Piper J-3 Flifire flown by Orville Wright.

One of the key pieces of the museum is the Piper J-3 Flitfire which is one of the last planes flown by Orville Wright.  The museum also has a replica of a P-51 Mustang that was flown by Major George E. Preddy of Greensboro.  Preddy scored the most aerial victories in a P-51 during World War II.  Tragically, Preddy was killed by friendly fire on Christmas Day, 1944.

The museum hosts numerous events and fly-ins throughout the year.  They are always looking for new volunteers and working on new exhibits.

All photos taken by post author - September 1, 2019.

How To Get There:

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Odell School

Odell School is an unincorporated area of Northwestern Cabarrus County.   The community is named after W.R. Odell, who founded the first textile mill in Cabarrus County, Odell Mill.  Odell School can also be for Odell School Township which was originally named Deweese Township.  Today, Odell School Township is now known as Cabarrus Township Number Three

W.R. Odell High School was established in 1929 consolidated several local rural schools.  At one time, the school was home to grades K through 12.  Odell High School consolidated with Winecoff High School to form Northwest Cabarrus County High School in 1966.  The former high school would continue to house up to grade eight when Northwest Cabarrus Middle School opened in the 1980s

The school, now just for grades K-5, would later close and be replaced by a new Odell Elementary off of near by Moss Farm Road.  However, in 2016 a new school opened on the site of the original Odell School - Odell Elementary for grades 3-5 opened.  The Moss Farm Road school became Odell Primary School for grades K-2.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Popular Posts